Saturday, August 22, 2015

Listen :: Flesh - W8 4 ME

Words: Linn Branson

If you're of er, more 'mature years', shall we say, and particularly if a London resident you may think this new release from Manchester outfit Flesh is about the Kensington W8 postcode. Others, of course, will laugh knowingly that 'W8 4 ME' is today's yoof-abreviated text speak for 'Wait For Me'.

The self-proclaimed "snotpop" quartet's - Robbie, Haz, Cozza and Jon - official debut label release, ‘W8 4 ME’/‘Dead Lonely’, is out on September 25 via RIP Records. (Don't stop me if you think you've heard these before, as both have been around before this 'official' release.)

Recorded in Flesh’s home studio in Fallowfield, Manchester, 'W8 4 ME' mixes up a metal/grunge concoction in a kind of new wave Britpop glaze, with heavy duty bass, effective fuzzy riffs, feedback crashes and Robbie's sloucher vocals doing the biz at the front.

Along with their first headline tour in September, the band join Rat Boy on two of his headline dates and support The Enemy in November. See dates below.

Flesh Headline dates

22 Newcastle, ThinkTank
23 Glasgow King Tuts
24 Sheffield Leadmill
25 Stockon KU Bar
26 Wakefield The Hop
28 Birmingham Sunflower Lounge
29 Manchester Sound Control
30 Nottingham Rock City Basement
01 Bristol Louisana
02 London The Garage
03 Reading The Bowery District
31 Manchester’s Night N Day

Flesh Supporting Rat Boy

18 Liverpool Studio 2
21 Manchester Ruby Lounge

Flesh Supporting The Enemy

13 Yeovil Neo
14 Middlesbrough The Venue
22 Portsmouth Wedgewood Rooms

No comments:

Post a Comment