Monday, March 30, 2020

Track Of The Day :: TV People - Time Eats Up

Credit: Niamh Finnegan 

Words: Linn Branson 

After their 'Kitchen Sinking' from earlier this year, Dublin's TV People return with new second single, 'Time Eats Up'.

Having only formed last year, the quartet have wasted no time in showing their garage rock-meets-post-punk chops. Coming in under two and a half minutes, and featuring thrashing drums, layered guitar riffs and Paul Donohoe's strong lead vocal, this new release, mixed by Dan Doherty at Darklands Audio (Fontaines D.C., Vulpynes), explores the intensity of solitude and isolation - pretty apt for the present climate of self-isolation due to the coronavirus pandemic.

"I wrote the lyrics for 'Time Eats Up' at the tail end of a six-month spell of unemployment," explains Donohoe. "I think we really managed to capture the mixed emotions of that idle state of existence in the song. The feelings of liberation that come with sitting idle and how these conflict with the dread that time is passing you by were a huge influence in the songwriting process for us.

"I came to view time as a very sinister and oppressive force and we tried to get this across in the music. As the song progresses, the sounds begin to get a bit heavier and sharper. We wanted the intensity of the outro to swallow up the more melodic sounds from the song's earlier verses as a way to convey the toxicity of that way of living."

Friday, March 27, 2020

Listen :: NOISY - Oi (ATM)

Following the release of their debut EP 'Press Space To Play', Brighton's NOISY are back with a new single, 'OI (ATM)'.

Out today (March 27), singer/rapper Cody, guitarist Connor and producer Spencer - formerly three-fourths of High Tyde - channel a new direction on the high-energy track, about "feeling like you’re being ripped off everywhere you go.”

Listen below.

Bristol-based Lack Lustre Rush makes debut with 'Diehard Fan Of Yours'

Words: Ellie Ward 

The debut single from Bristol-based Vladimir Nemecek, otherwise known under the moniker of Lack Lustre Rush, is called 'Diehard Fan Of Yours', and you may well end up one of his after hearing this.

Released earlier this month, there's a strong, raw and rocky vocal that pays homage "to all the rock & roll greats and underdogs, a salute to its hardcore punk roots," that gilds the big arena styled alt-rock-pop nicely.

Although this appears to be his solo debut, there is more to be had on YouTube from his 2017 band project, Radical Miracle.

Watch :: CHAI take a dig at wearing make-up in visuals for 'No More Cake'

Directed by Hideto Hotta, Japanese girl band CHAI share their new song, 'No More Cake', with visuals.

Delivered in their typically quirky, pop-punk style, 'No More Cake' - sung mostly in English this time - is a wry stab at wearing make-up, with the video clip finding them daubing their faces with colourful frosting, paint, and cake batter.

"You know how I feel about make-up? I feel like make-up has the ability to allow you to be who you want to be.
It’s that super awesome, sparkling kind of magic!" CHAI vocalist MANA explainsin a statement.

“We feel like that you should wear make-up that you feel suits you. Wearing make-up shouldn’t be based on the orders of someone else.”

Listen :: Egyptian Blue - Nylon Wire

Words: Sam Geary 

Egyptian Blue bring out their best of edgy post-punk on new single 'Nylon Wire' - the second cut from their upcoming second EP 'Body of Itch', out on April 10 via Yala! Records.

Produced once more by Theo Verney (FUR, TRAAMS), ‘Nylon Wire’ was written quickly, following a jam.

"Some of our tracks take weeks of configuration, others take minutes," says co-frontman Andy Buss of the intense, nervy track. "This falls into the latter."

Tune in below.

Track Of The Day :: Stay Lunar are 'Dreaming That I'm Not In Love' on new release

Credit: Belinda Enthoven 

Words: Ellie Ward 

We caught up with Stay Lunar last November with 'Catch Up', now we are catching up with the Bristol/Swindon-based five-piece again with new release 'Dreaming That I'm Not In Love', out today (March 27).

Produced once more by the Sugar House team, Ady Hall and Lee McCarthy in St Helens, there's plenty to get heads nodding and fingers tapping in 'Dreaming That I'm Not In Love' with dremy vocals augmented by crisp synths, driving bass and racing guitars. It's one you're going to love!