Wednesday, May 25, 2016

Listen :: New Factory Floor track in advance of '20/25' album

Words: Sam Geary

Factory Floor electronica duo, Nik Void and Gabriel Gurnsey, announce their return with the follow-up to their 2013 self-titled debut album, with '25/25' to be released on August 19 via DFA.

Check out lead single ‘Dial Me In’ below. The track is also available now as a limited 12”.

Speaking of the new track, Void says: “Being openly progressive has always been the Factory Floor way, be it via improvisational live shows, early Blast First releases, DFA reworks, or open studio collaborations and residencies. “Dial Me In” was the first track Gabe and I wrote together for this record. At this time we were both exploring new set ups – some unfamiliar gear like modular systems, as well as various machines combined with regular old stuff like my Roland sampler, live drums and effected live vocals. Our shows between 2014-2015 were steadily moving towards late night club stompers, and
gradually our tools were
becoming more and more mobile within two Peli cases wheeled across the continent. We were forever testing out changing sets from one place to the next. This single is all about transition, adjustment and transparency – something we needed to get out there so that dots can be joined and the next page can be turned ready for 25/25 .

'25/25' Tracklisting:
01 Meet Me At The End
02 Relay
03 Slow Listen
04 25/25
05 Dial Me In
06 Wave
07 Ya
08 Upper Left

No comments:

Post a Comment