Thursday, January 07, 2016

Yeasayer are back? Well, there's a brand new track at least

Photo: Anna Palma

Words: Alison Mack

It's been almost four years since we last heard from New York psych rockers Yeasayer with 'Fragrant World', but it now looks like there are definite stirrings in their camp.

Just prior to Christmas there was an obscure video uploaded to YouTube titled 'Amen & Goodbye' which left many wondering if it was the sign of things to come, or a final adieu.

Now, overnight they have revealed a track called 'I Am Chemistry' on Spotify. The song is a five-minute prog synth work of percussive rhythmic bass, and a children's choir singing over piano-rippled notes.

Listen to the song below.

The trio - Chris Keating, Ira Wolf Tuton and Anand Wilder - have also announced that 'Amen & Goodbye' will be released on April 1 via Mute.

'Amen & Goodbye' Tracklisting:

01 Daughters Of Cain
02 I Am Chemistry
03 Silly Me
04 Half Asleep
05 Dead Sea Scrolls
06 Prophecy Gun
07 Computer Canticle 1
08 Divine Simulacrum
09 Child Prodigy
10 Gerson's Whistle
11 Uma
12 Cold Night
13 Amen & Goodbye

To visually interpret the album, Yeasayer collaborated with renowned sculptor David Altmejd (whose artwork is a major influence on the band) to create the gatefold artwork. The teasers released prior to ‘I Am Chemistry’ contained some of the sculptures Altmejd created while listening to the band's new album.

Melding the song and vision of Yeasayer and Altmejd, director group New Team Ltd have created the music video for ‘I Am Chemistry’, which you can watch here.

No comments:

Post a Comment