Tuesday, May 24, 2016

Track Of The Day :: Safe To Swim - Pieces

Words: LB

If you were lucky you may have caught this local Brighton quartet Safe To Swim last weekend at The Great Escape. If you didn't, now is possibly a good point to catch up.

Formed in 2014, they released their debut single 'Forget Life.Repeat.' in February 2015, followed by their first EP '20 Years', which just came out in April - and contains our Track Of The Day, 'Pieces'.

Produced by Mike Lord at Brighton Electric Studios, they describe their sound as 'heavy pop': a combination of sleazy grunge fuzz and indie rock with upbeat pop hooks and melodies. The three-minute 'Pieces' slow builds on James Filippides' grungey vocal and synth accompaniment, before blasting full out on a surge of shredding guitars and a fuzz-filled final onslaught.

Upcoming Shows

15 Truck Festival
29 Y Not Festival

Safe To Swim are: James Filippides: lead vocal, guitar; George Rawlings: guitar, synth; Daniel Hole: bass; Joe Dennis: drums.

More info: FACEBOOK

No comments:

Post a Comment