Wednesday, August 17, 2016

Track Of The Day :: The Spitfires - Return To Me

Words: Sam Geary

Rock 'n' roll rebelliousness at its best from Watford four-piece The Spitfires on new single 'Return To Me'.

Echoing The Smiths, Bellowhead and their earlier mod influences, frontman Billy Sullivan says of the song, the third to be taken from their upcoming album: "For me 'Return To Me' is the centre-piece of the album. It's based on a really old riff that I wrote when I was a kid, that for some reason kept coming back to me when I'd pick up a guitar, so I suppose that's where the initial concept came from. It came out exactly how I intended it to and I think it shows real progression."

The track is available as a free download now with all digital pre-orders of forthcoming second album 'A Thousand Times' (out on August 26 via Catch 22 Records) from iTunes.

The band will play an intimate hometown album launch party at a secret venue in Watford on Friday August 26, where for the special price of £10 you will receive entry, a copy of 'A Thousand Times' and an exclusive lyric sheet for 'On My Mind'. There are just a handful of tickets left available from here.

The Spitfires recently announced their ‘A Thousand Times’ 2016 UK headline tour. See dates below.

Live dates

27 The Haunt Brighton
09 Audio, Glasgow
10 Bodega, Nottingham
16 O2 Islington Academy, London
17 O2 Academy 2, Newcastle
24 Ruby Lounge, Manchester
01 Joiners, Southampton
07 O2 Academy 3, Birmingham
11 Chinnerys, Southend
12 Boileroom, Guildford
18 Zanzibar, Liverpool
19 The Scholar, Leicester

No comments:

Post a Comment