Sunday, April 30, 2017

10 Little Indie Hot Picks to check out over the long weekend

Bored with yet another long weekend ahead and nothing to do? Well, never mind, break open a bottle and settle down for a listening session with ten of our specially handpicked Bank Holiday blinders.


Don't know if we could get 'Drunk' to this, but we're certainty swooning away on this quite awesome track of building percussion and layers of pulsing synths coupled with LA indie pop maestro Ryan Marshall Lawhon vocal. First coming our way in January with 'Night Lies'. Taken from the two-volume album 'How You Gonna Stop It?' (Vol. 1 came out on January 24, now the full collection drops on June 9).


Another tremendous track 'Every Day' - the first 50 seconds are especially delish - of electronic pop synths and wistful vocals, from the South Devon duo - Matthew Board and Lucy Fawcett - released last Friday (April 28) via Beatnik Records. Check more here.


Brighton's Safe To Swim's second single ‘Pretty In The Morning’ - produced by Josh Harrison (Royal Blood) - is a jangly, melancholic piece that allows gritty guitars to reign over lyrical self-doubt, anxiety and hangover shame. The four-piece are on tour from May. Check Facebook for details.


Wrexham may not have given us much, but fortunately Kidsmoke break the trend. They come out all bright and breezy on 'And Mine Alone', the second shimmering feelgood cut from their new EP out next month.


‘Caroline’ by Dear Caroline, released earlier this month, follows last year's 'Pretty Corpse' from the Manchester alt-indie-folk four-piece, based in Greater Manchester which includes brothers Alfie and Joe Prior (both guitar and vocals). Now on their third name (Violet Society, Caroline and now Dear Caroline), their energetic sound, built on their high tempo tracks, primal rhythms, and extraordinary lyrical vernacular is intriguing - their band name choices perhaps less so.


Following her 'Swim Against The Tide' EP last year, Amber Bain returns with the bewitching dreamy refrain of 'Saw You In a Dream', the title track from her upcoming fourth EP out June 16 via Dirty Hit. Our on tour in Europe now - UK next month - keep up via Facebook.


London-based Groves add an alluring US feel to new single 'Savour' - which we definitely are savouring. There's a driving beat, yet the psych vibe with sparkling guitars and trembling percussion is laid back from the indietronica outfit.


Cardiff’s Estrons are back guns and riffs a-blazin on new single ‘Strobe Lights'. Hard-edged post-punk with frontwoman Taliesyn Källström lending strong vocals to wiry guitars with energy-fuelled, bold rhythms.


New single 'Soho' from Brighton rock 'n' rollers Of Empires, whose 'See You With The Angels, Kid' featured on our Roundtable earlier this month - also from their forthcoming EP out in May. This time they draw on a more soulful vocal approach.


It was back in 2015 that we last heard from this Italian four-piece when 'Mintaka' made our Track Of The Day. 'Never Trust Me' is a liquid flowing of guitars and vocals, from their EP 'Islands', which came out Friday (April 28) via Ghost Records.

No comments:

Post a Comment