Wednesday, June 14, 2017

New tracks coming up from Down Under

Little Indie casts its ears and eyes over some of the latest sounds to emerge from Down Under.

Bus Vipers - CSIRO Weeds

The first single from Sydney-based multi-instrumentalist, 24-year-old Daniel Ahern's debut EP 'Federal Highway' out this summer. Dreampop with a touch of psychedelia.

Clowns - Pickle

Check out 'Pickle' from the Melbourne punks' third album 'Lucid Again', released last month. Not quite sure about 'lucid' but this track has some great guitar, raucous drum rolls and a dynamic vocal in amidst its scuzzy psych undertones.

Neighbourhood Youth - Hugo

'Hugo' is the four-minute latest offering from the Melbourne-based outfit. Post-punk in essence, its driven niftily by the fast-paced wiry guitars, drum machine backing and John Philip's vocal holding all together.

Ferla - Breakups Are Hard For Everybody

- a truism indeed, but this shimmering track from another Melbourne native, Ferla, isn't at all hard to listen to. Electronic indie pop breakup stuff from the double EP, 'Guilt Pop/Stay Posi', which came out at the end of May as a digital release.

Hachiku - Moon Face

From Melbourne songstress Anika Ostendorf's just released self-titled debut EP. Quirky vocal style with a touch of Björk in some of her tonsil acrobatics with electronic accompaniment.

Elider - Your Silent Face

From Hamilton, New Zealand, 'Your Silent Face' is the last track off Elider's (pronounced Ee-lie-da) debut album, 'Redbird', released earlier this year. Fronted by Justin Harris, (of NZ bands Inchworm and Spatula Death, now based in Osaka, Japan), indie pop guitars meld with an air of alt-folk-rock - and a video that makes you wish Old Grey Whistle Test was still about.

No comments:

Post a Comment