Thursday, December 06, 2018

Yak announce new album and drop another taster - 'Fried'

Credit: Zackery Michael

Words: Sam Geary

Yak have announced their second album, 'Pursuit of Momentary Happiness', will arrive on February 8 2019 via Third Man Records / Virgin EMI.

To precede it, the trio share new single 'Fried'.

The band recorded the full-length at RAK Studios with producer Marta Salogni (Bj√∂rk, Django Django) and spent 10 hectic days recording 29 songs, 11 of which feature on the album. Oli Burslem then withdrew to a small home studio with with Spiritualized's Jason Pierce to apply some finishing touches. Pierce added slide guitar and vocals to the finale 'This House Has No Living Room', which sails out on Burslem's field recording of birdsong. Against all advice, his dedication resulted in one final trip, this time to New York to completely remix the album.

Live dates

MARCH 2019
29 Birmingham, Castle & Falcon
30 Norwich, Arts Centre

01 Cardiff, Clwb Ifor Bach
02 Oxford, O2 Academy 2
03 London, The Dome
05 Leeds, Brudenell Social CLub
06 Nottingham, Bodega Social Club
08 Liverpool, Arts Club
09 Manchester, YES
11 Newcastle, The Cluny
12 Glasgow, King Tut’s
13 Dublin, Whelan’s

No comments:

Post a Comment