Sunday, December 17, 2017

Track Of The Day :: Smoke Rings - Biology

Words: Ellie Ward

A previous Little Indie Track Of The Day last year with 'Rose Coloured Glasses', Melbourne indie rockers Smoke Rings now return after a lengthy hiatus following their debut EP, with a third single, 'Biology'.

“Biology is a commentary on infatuation, unreasoned passion, and the power we allow another to have over us,” says vocalist Shane O'Keeffe of the 90s influenced spine tingler, with O’Keeffe’s vocals lending stadium appeal over soaring guitars and hands-in-the-air chorus.

Smoke Rings play The Curtin in Carlton, Victoria on December 21.

Saturday, December 16, 2017

Watch :: Morrissey live on US TV's CBS This Morning

Despite his many gig cancellations, Morrissey did show up to perform at new Washington DC venue The Anthem today for a special edition of CBS This Morning’s Saturday Sessions series.

Watch him cover 'Spent The Day In Bed' and 'Jacky’s Only Happy When She’s Up On The Stage', both from his recent solo album 'Low In High School'.

He also included 'Everyday Is Like Sunday' from his 1988 debut solo album, 'Viva Hate'.

Introducing / Track Of The Day :: Dead Blue - Tenderstem

Words: Linn Branson

When you go down to the shops today... after listening to this debut single by Dead Blue, you may think twice when browsing the aisles for your broccoli and sprouts.

'Tenderstem' is one of those songs you immediately give your attention to through the opening lines: "Saw you in the supermarket vegetable aisle / I was supposed to pick up onions / but I picked out your smile."

The guitar lines are particularly lovely, and the build up with organ and drums develops the song nicely around Alex Sharples' deadpan vocal. It's a grower!

The Newcastle-based trio are as new as fresh veg themselves, forming only in September and this being their first track laid down at Loft Studios.

As for the inspiration behind 'Tenderstem'....

"Well, it all really stemmed from Alex being on a bit of a health kick, like starting going to the gym and actually eating fruit and vegetables," guitarist Ryan Baker tells Little Indie.

"He was putting a load of veg in the fridge when he saw 'Tenderstem' on a packet of broccoli and thought it was a weirdly nice sounding word. He initially suggested it as a band name but we didn't go for it. Then a bit later on we were sat in the steam room at the gym and he started pissing around thinking of melodies to fit with it and by the time we'd come out he'd got the chorus and pre-chorus down. He sang it to me and we liked it so it went from there."

We can't wait for the video.

Dead Blue play their maiden gig at The Cluny in Newcastle on February 17 2018.

Dead Blue are: Alex Sharples - (lead vocals, drums), Ryan Baker - (vocals, guitar), Matthew Hunt - (bass).

Find out more on Facebook.

TAYNE share debut EP single 'Sacrifice'

Words: Sam Geary

Swathes of dreamy experimental electronica-gaze avail the senses on this upcoming single by London outfit TAYNE.

Released on January 9 2018, 'Sacrifice' is the lead cut off their debut EP 'Breathe', which follows later next year.

Created by Matthew Sutton, their music  - described as "industrial synthpop" - is driven by atmospheric vocals, punishing guitars, and layers of pulsing electronics.

TAYNE play a single launch show at Camden's Lock Tavern, London on January 10 2018.

Watch :: Chvrches cover Joni Mitchell and Cyndi Lauper at LA show

Wednesday night (December 13) saw Chvrches perform their first live show in a year at Los Angeles’ Fonda Theatre for a special Christmas Holiday Variety Show. While frontwoman Lauren Mayberry and synth player Martin Doherty held the fort, bandmate Iain Cook was not in attendance.

The Scottish synthpop trio have spent the last months busy on the follow-up to their second album ‘Every Open Eye‘ with Greg Kurstin.

At the event, Mayberry and Doherty performef covers of Joni Mitchell’s ‘River’, and Cyndi Lauper's classic, ‘Time After Time’. They also included a version of their own ‘The Mother We Share’.

Watch the fan filmed footage above.

New tracks coming up from Down Under

Little Indie casts its ears and eyes over more of the latest sounds to emerge recently from Down Under.


Latest stripped back single from Auckland, NZ songwriter Corban Koschak, taken from his December 1 released (via Tone Tonic) debut album, 'Alchemy'. Gentle and affecting, heartfelt lyrics and Koschak’s emotive delivery.


Another cracker from Auckland, via two-piece Jamie Pyne and Maurice Miller, who drop this upbeat new single. The follow up to ‘Doze', you'll want to hear this more than once. Driving power-pop with a touch of alt-rock, propulsive beats and an infectious guitar line.


After making their debut earlier this year, Brisbane's alt-punk pop trio unveiled this new single on December 1. Borrowing sonic elements from pop punk heroes of the late 2000's and adding the rough and tumble twang of frontman Era Brightwell's vocals, they capture the the energy and anxiety of being young and uncertain.


Wellington, NZ psychedelic duo - vocalist/guitarist Gussie Larkin (Mermaidens) and Ezra Simons, drums, vocals have dropped their latest single, after last year's 'Portable Shrine' EP. A heavy slice of witchy fuzz.


Rock 'n' soul follow up single to debut 'Miss Behind' by the New South Wales garage rock sextet. Taken from their forthcoming EP 'Sometimes, Always, Never, Maybe', out February 2 2018. Psych surf vibes, rhythm-soaked guitars and vocal appeal.


Lead single from the Perth-based singer/acoustic guitarist's debut album, 'It's The Life', out December 20. Upbeat and catchy with a stompbox addition. You'll be singing along to the title line on first listen.