Monday, December 01, 2014

BBC Sound Of 2015 Longlist Unveiled

The BBC have unveiled the longlist for the Sound Of 2015 - with artists such as Wolf Alice, Lapsley, Slaves and SOAK among the up and coming acts to feature.

Thirteen of the 15 longlisted names are from the UK, chosen by around 140 music industry figures and critics. The top five will be announced one per day from January 5 2015 with the winner announced on January 9.

Sam Smith won last year’s prize after featuring as a vocalist on Naughty Boy’s chart-topping single 'La La La'. Other past winners have included Adele, Ellie Goulding, Michael Kiwanuka.

The list in full:

George The Poet
James Bay
Rae Morris
Sunset Sons
Wolf Alice
Years & Years

George Ergatoudis (Head of BBC's Music, BBC Radio 1 and 1Xtra), said in a statement: “If you want to embark on a journey into the future of music, BBC Music’s ‘Sound Of 2015’ is a brilliant starting point. With around 140 of the UK's key tastemakers taking part, the longlist is wide ranging, including grime artists, singer-songwriters, an electro-pop band, a garage punk duo and a poet amongst others. It’s a list full of talent and promise and I very much look forward to seeing how each artist’s story unfolds over the coming year."

No comments:

Post a Comment