Friday, June 17, 2016

Posthumous Viola Beach album announced

Words: Ellie Ward

A nine-track album of songs recorded by the late Warrington group Viola Beach will be released on July 29 via the band’s own label Fuller Beans Records, it was announced today.

The self-titled album will feature the song that first brought them to public attention, 'Swings & Waterslides', along with ‘Boys That Sing’ and live favourite, 'Cherry Vimto'.

The band's four members, Kris Leonard, River Reeves, Tomas Lowe, Jack Dakin, together with their manager Craig Tarry, lost their lives in a car accident in Sweden in February.

A statement by the band’s family members said:

“We are tremendously proud of everything the boys achieved in such a short space of time. Craig, Jack, Kris, River and Tom shared a huge passion, talent and dedication to music.

We believe the best way to celebrate our sons’ lives is to release an album of their songs.

This is their legacy and we know deep in our hearts that the boys would want the world to listen to the music they poured everything into. This was only the beginning for them and these nine songs were written with every intention to be shared, heard and, most of all, enjoyed.

We hope that it brings you as much happiness listening to it as we know it did to them making it.”


1. Swings & Waterslides
2. Like A Fool
3. Go Outside
4. Cherry Vimto
5. Drunk
6. Really Wanna Call
7. Call You Up
8. Get To Dancing (BBC Session)
9. Boys That Sing

Pre order the album here.

No comments:

Post a Comment