Monday, June 11, 2018

Boston Manor announce second album and share lead single, 'Halo'

Words: Sam Geary

Blackpool rockers Boston Manor return this autumn with their second album, ‘Welcome To The Neighbourhood’, which will be released on September 7 via Pure Noise Records.

Produced by Mike Sapone (Taking Back Sunday, Public Enemy), ‘Welcome To The Neighbourhood’ is a soundtrack to disenfranchisement set in a fictionalised version of the band’s hometown. The band have shared its first single, ‘Halo’, a song underpinned by a wash of doomy electronics and visualised in the dark vignettes of its accompanying music video.

“’Halo’ almost got scrapped and didn’t make the album,” vocalist Henry Cox admits. “It was a totally different song, much slower and moodier. About a month before we went into the studio we reworked it entirely and it morphed into this current incarnation. It’s a song about feeling trapped; being in a vicious cycle and not knowing if there’ll ever be a way out.”

The band have also announced their biggest headline tour to date which will see them traverse the UK and Europe through September and October, including a date at London’s Electric Ballroom on September 22.

Live dates

12 Cheltenham 2000 Trees Festival
13 Hatfield Forum w/ Enter Shikari
20 Truck Festival

‘Welcome To The Neighbourhood’ UK Tour
(w/ support from Microwave, Drug Church & Wallflower)

21 Bristol Thekla
22 London Electric Ballroom
23 Birmingham Mama Roux's
24 Nottingham Rescue Rooms
26 Liverpool Hangar 34
27 Glasgow SWG3
28 Leeds Key Club
29 Manchester Gorilla

1 comment:

  1. nice one out there from boston manor.... am a fan