Monday, January 11, 2016

Explosions In The Sky announce first new album in 5 years - 'The Wilderness'

Texan instrumental post-rock quartet known for their moody, cinematic compositions, Explosions In The Sky, have announced their first new studio album in five years, 'The Wilderness', to be released on April 1 through Temporary Residence.

The LP, nine tracks, will be their first non-soundtrack record since 2011’s 'Take Care, Take Care, Take Care' and sixth overall. The album also sees the band for the first time working with an outside producer, John Congleton (St. Vincent, Spoon).

According to their official press statement, Explosions in the Sky explore “the infinite unknown, utilizing several of the band’s own definitions of “space” (outer space, mental space, physical geography of space) as compositional tools.” Fans can expect a record where “shoegaze, electronic experimentation, punk damaged dub, noise, and ambient folk somehow coexist without a hint of contrivance.”

Listen to lead single 'Disintegration Anxiety' above.

'The Wilderness' Tracklisting:

01 Wilderness
02 The Ecstatics
03 Tangle Formations
04 Logic Of A Dream
05 Disintegration Anxiety
06 Losing The Light
07 Infinite Orbit
08 Colors In Space
09 Landing Cliffs

The band head to the UK to play a handful of dates following the album release.

19 Barrowland, Glasgow
20 Vicar Street, Dublin
22 Albert Hall, Manchester
23 Colston Hall, Bristol
24 Brighton Dome, Brighton
25 Royal Albert Hall, London

No comments:

Post a Comment