Thursday, January 19, 2017

Introducing :: The Cliftons

Words: Richard Cobb

Aberdeen’s The Cliftons formed back in 2013, which is pretty impressive given that they’re all still only 17 years old now. Since their formation they released a self-titled debut EP in 2015 - containing live favourite 'Methamphetamine' - and are now about to drop its follow-up.

The indie/alternative four-piece release new EP ‘Scarlett’ independently this Friday (January 20). Much of the EP's five tracks sounds like Catfish and the Bottlemen would, had they replaced Van McCann with the singer from Twin Atlantic. There’s a healthy amount of impressive guitar solos throughout ‘Scarlett’, particularly on opener ‘Admission’ and last track ‘FFTV’ which add a lot to the tracks. Whilst production wise it might be slightly low key, there’s still a great deal of promise on here and The Cliftons are a band worth keeping on your radar.

And you can start by checking out their EP launch show at The Tunnels, Aberdeen on January 21.

The Cliftons Are: James Will (vocals/rhythm guitar), Andrew Joseph (lead guitar/backing vocals), Keir Smith (bass), Bilal Benzahia (drums/backing vocals).

More info: FACEBOOK

No comments:

Post a Comment