Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Menace Beach return with new album announcement + first single - 'Black Rainbow Sound' (ft Brix Smith)

Words: Ellie Ward

Leeds-based Menace Beach return with the announcement of their third album. 'Black Rainbow Sound' is set for release on August 31 via Memphis Industries. Ahead of which they share the record's first single and title track, which features Brix Smith.

'Black Rainbow Sound' marks their first new material since 'Lemon Memory' early last year, and after a self-imposed break from tour duties, the album exhibits a profound shift in their sound, whilst still maintaining Liza Violet and Ryan Needham's blasts of noise, visceral power, and enigmatic pop lyricism.

Listen to 'Black Rainbow Sound' below. Featuring Brix Smith of The Fall, and Brix and the Extricated, Liza says how “The synchronicity of the universe just forced us and Brix together. The very day l finished reading her biography she played us on her BBC 6music show along with a wonderfully out-there monologue of how the song made her feel. I said thanks, we got chatting and it went from there. She’s a burning comet of positive energy”

Live dates

18 Derby, The Hairy Dog
20 Birmingham, Hare & Hounds
22 Glasgow, Broadcast
23 Newcastle, The Cluny 2
24 Manchester, Deaf Institute
25 London, Oslo
26 Bristol, Rough Trade
27 Sheffield, Picture House Social

02 Leeds, Brudenell Social Club

No comments:

Post a Comment