Friday, April 28, 2017

Track Of The Day :: Sløtface - Magazine

Words: Sam Geary

Norwegian quartet Sløtface fire off with the blistering lead track ‘Magazine’ from their debut album ‘Try Not To Freak Out’, arriving on September 15 via Propeller Recordings.

Blasting out an effervescent pop punk rallying cry against image stereotyping, 'Magazine' with singer Haley Shea leading with some powerfully sweet vocals against a raft of punk guitar lines.

“I really wanted to write a killer breakup song, but I’ve never really had any experience with heartbreaking, devastating, aggressive breakups, so I thought I would write a breakup song about breaking up with bad body image and unrealistic representations of human bodies in media," explains Shea of the song. "It’s fuelled by the back and forth of knowing that society creates unrealistic expectations regarding what people “should” look like, and still feeling uncomfortable in your own skin because you don’t live up to those images.”

The band follow their upcoming appearance at The Great Escape in Brighton next month with a lengthy UK tour in the autumn - see below.

UK headline tour:

28 BOURNEMOUTH 60 Million Postcards
29 BIRMINGHAM Actress & Bishop
30 LEEDS Brudenell Social Club

01 MANCHESTER Soup Kitchen
03 YORK The Basement
04 HULL The New Adelphi
05 DERBY The Venue
06 SHEFFIELD The Picture House Social
07 NEWCASTLE Think Tank
09 EDINBURGH Sneaky Pete’s
10 GLASGOW Broadcast
12 LIVERPOOL The Magnet
16 NOTTINGHAM Bodega Social Club
17 LEICESTER The Cookie
19 PLYMOUTH The Underground
20 BRISTOL The Louisiana
21 READING Purple Turtle
24 BRIGHTON The Hope & Ruin
25 LONDON Camden Assembly
26 OXFORD Cellar

No comments:

Post a Comment