Thursday, July 19, 2018

Menace Beach unveil new track 'Crawl In Love'

Words: Ellie Ward

Leeds-based psych outfit Menace Beach - Liza Violet and Ryan Needham - have shared new single 'Crawl In Love' taken from their forthcoming album 'Black Rainbow Sound', out August 31st via Memphis Industries.

"It’s tough to justify chucking another song with ’love’ in the title on the pile," says Needham, "but ’Crawl in Love’ is truly the most unabashed, chock-full of joy song we’ve ever written and it came to us at a time when the endless horror of these times seemed to be really upping its game on a daily basis. I really needed to counter all the negative slime in my head in some way so I just went full cliche hippy and started writing list after list that explored and celebrated all ideas of love in the universe, a search for every last drop I could think of. Writing this one really gave me the mental rest I needed at that time."

'Black Rainbow Sound' is the band's first new material since last year's 'Lemon Memory', and after a self-imposed break from tour duties, and follows their recently unveiled album title track featuring Brix Smith.

The band will head out on a UK tour this autumn, as follows:

Live dates

18 Derby, The Hairy Dog
20 Birmingham, Hare & Hounds
22 Glasgow, Broadcast
23 Newcastle, The Cluny 2
24 Manchester, Deaf Institute
25 London, Oslo
26 Bristol, Rough Trade
27 Sheffield, Picture House Social
02 Leeds, Brudenell Social Club

No comments:

Post a Comment